Supporting Accreditation

National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards were developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care, to drive the implementation of safety and quality systems and improve the quality of health care in Australia.  

The 10 NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health service organisations.

Supporting Accreditation


The Clinical Excellence Commission has prepared the following information on resources that are available to NSW public health services for their assessment against the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards. Each of the ten National Standards listed below links to a page that lists the criteria and actions for that Standard and the available resources. A link is provided to information that will assist health services preparing for assessment against the National Standards.

  • Standard 1 - Governance for Safety and Quality in Health Service Organisations - link
  • Standard 2 - Partnering with Consumers - link
  • Standard 3 - Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infections - link
  • Standard 4 - Medication Safety - link
  • Standard 5 - Patient Identification and Procedure Matching - link
  • Standard 6 - Clinical Handover - link
  • Standard 7 - Blood and Blood Products - link
  • Standard 8 - Preventing and Managing Pressure Injuries - link
  • Standard 9 - Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration in Acute Health Care - link
  • Standard 10 - Preventing Falls and Harm from Falls - link

This website will be regularly updated as resources are revised and new resources are added.