Research and Education Committee

The primary role of the Research & Education Committee is to:

  • provide leadership to, and governance oversight of research and education conducted by the CEC, to improve the safety and quality of care for patients in NSW public hospitals; and
  • advise the Board on the priority, quality and relevance of research and education undertaken or proposed to be undertaken by, on behalf of the CEC.
Prof Andrew Wilson

Prof Andrew Wilson
Committee Chair

Professor Wilson is the Co-Director of the Menzies Centre for Health Policy and Economics, and Professor of Public Health in the Sydney School of Public Health, University of Sydney and Co-Director of the NHMRC Australian Prevention Partnership Centre (Sax Institute). He chairs the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee for the Australian Government. He has specialist qualifications in public health and clinical medicine, and a PhD in epidemiology.

His previous non-academic roles include Deputy Director-General Public Health and Chief Health Officer, NSW Health and Deputy Director, Policy, Planning and Resourcing, Queensland Health. His research interests include all aspects of the prevention and management of chronic disease and evaluation of the responsiveness and effectiveness of health care systems.

Prof Mary Haines
BA Hons (Psych), PhD, GAICD

Professor Mary Haines has worked in senior positions across the government, academic, corporate and independent sectors. She is currently a Board Member Sydney Local Health District; Senior Adviser at the Sax Institute; Adjunct Professor at the Menzies Centre for Health Policy and Economics, Sydney School of Public Health University of Sydney; and is the Director of Mary Haines Consulting Pty Ltd.

Her expertise lies in health research, translational initiatives, evaluation, governance, strategic policy development and implementation.

Prof Phillip Harris OA

Professor Phillip Harris is a Cardiologist and a Clinical Professor of the Central Clinical School, University of Sydney. He is the Chair of the Board of South Western Sydney LHD, is the Clinical Director of the Cardiovascular Service of Sydney LHD and was a member of the Independent Panel advising Minister for Health on the implementation of the recommendations of the Garling Special Commission of Inquiry.

Professor Harris is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association and the Cardiac Society of Australian and New Zealand. Professor Harris was appointed to Membership of the Order of Australia in 2009.

Professor Sandy Middleton

Professor Sandy Middleton

Sandy Middleton is Professor of Nursing and Director of the Nursing Research Institute, a joint initiative between St Vincent's Health Australia (Sydney) and Australian Catholic University. She has led large multi-site cluster randomized controlled trials in stroke and implementation research.

She is a member of the National Health and Medical Research Council Research Committee, the Stroke Foundation Clinical Council, a Director of the St Vincent's Clinic Board, and Chair of the Steering Committee of the Australian Stroke Clinical Registry.

Karen Patterson

Karen Patterson
Director Capability and Culture

With over 30 years' experience in healthcare, Karen has learnt the factor impacting most on clinical practice, effectiveness and patient safety is the presence of supportive, collaborative and inclusive workplace cultures where leadership is not a rank but is supported at all levels.

Karen has been a champion for clinical excellence with executive experience in Strategy and Performance, Workforce and Practice Development, Clinical Governance and Policy. Through research, Karen has elevated the voice of patients, carers and families, enabling their experiences to be heard and expertise recognised as drivers for system change.

As Director Capability and Culture, Karen's portfolio integrates four portfolios being Organisational Effectiveness; Team Culture, Communication and Person Centred Care; Knowledge Management, Evaluation and Research; and the CEC Academy.

A/Prof David Peiris

Associate Professor David Peiris is Head of Primary Health Care Research at the George Institute for Global Health. He is an Associate Professor at the University of Sydney and a practising GP. He was the 2015-2016 Australian Harkness Fellow in Healthcare policy, based at the Harvard School of Public Health.

David has been a board member with the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners National Faculty of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and was the inaugural CEC Ian O'Rourke PhD scholar from 2007-2009. He leads several NHMRC grants, testing strategies to improve primary health care systems in Australia, India and China.