The Clinical Excellence Commission is a board-governed statutory health corporation established under the Health Services Act 1997. It is responsible for providing guidance and strategic oversight of the organisation's performance. This includes setting directions within the bounds of statutory, government and Ministry of Health requirements and available resources.

Our Board - Prof Andrew Wilson

Prof Andrew Wilson
Board Chair

Professor Wilson is the Co-Director of the Menzies Centre for Health Policy and Economics, and Professor of Public Health in the Sydney School of Public Health, University of Sydney and Co-Director of the NHMRC Australian Prevention Partnership Centre (Sax Institute). He chairs the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee for the Australian Government. He has specialist qualifications in public health and clinical medicine, and a PhD in epidemiology.

His previous non-academic roles include Deputy Director-General Public Health and Chief Health Officer, NSW Health and Deputy Director, Policy, Planning and Resourcing, Queensland Health. His research interests include all aspects of the prevention and management of chronic disease and evaluation of the responsiveness and effectiveness of health care systems.

Dr Michael Nicholl

Adjunct Professor Michael C. Nicholl
Chief Executive (ex-officio Board member)

As a clinician of 40 years, a specialist obstetrician and gynaecologist for 30 years, a senior clinician manager for 15 years, and as the senior clinical advisor obstetrics to NSW Health for over a decade, Dr Michael Nicholl has been a visionary and inspirational leader who has led and promoted excellence in safety and quality in clinical care primarily across maternity, newborn and women's health.

For the past 20 years he has concentrated on the public sector in NSW with more than 15 years in a senior clinical management roles, both operational and strategic, together with a clinical academic role.

Michael became the first obstetrician in Australia to become a Fellow of the Australasian Association for Quality in Health Care. His clinical management and safety and quality expertise led to numerous service reviews both in NSW and in other states across Australia. At a national level he has worked with the Australian Institute for Health and Welfare with respect to Maternity Data Development and the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care on Hospital Acquired Complications and the Australian Atlas of Healthcare Variation.

In 2008, he became the first senior clinical advisor obstetrics to NSW Health. His time as senior clinical advisor obstetrics allowed him to gain better insights into the broader quality and safety agenda in healthcare. He has a particular academic interest in risk and his doctoral thesis related to applicability of risk matrices to high risk pregnancy care and delivery. In 2017 was recognised by the NSW government insurer (iCare – TMF) by winning the NSW Public Sector Risk Leadership Award, an award that spans all government agencies. Michael is a previous president of Women's Healthcare Australasia.

Our Board - Leon Clark

Dr Leon Clark

Prior to his appointment as Group Chief Executive Officer of Adventist HealthCare in 2012, Dr Leon Clark FAICD was Chief Executive Officer of Sydney Adventist Hospital for ten years from April 2002.

With a strong clinical background, as well as administrative expertise, he was originally an Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, and pioneer in his chosen sub-specialty of in vitro fertilisation.

A past president of the Australian Private Hospitals Association, he currently serves on the boards of several not-for-profit organisations, including The Novus Foundation and Medi-Aid Centre Foundation Limited.

Our Board - Jacqueline Close

Prof Jacqueline Close

Professor Jacqui Close is a consultant in Orthogeriatrics at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Sydney and Clinical Director of the Falls, Balance and Injury Research Centre at Neuroscience Research Australia. She trained in the UK and moved to Australia in 2005. Her research interests range from injury epidemiology, to intervention studies and implementation research.

Jacqui has published over 150 papers and her research is currently focused on injury prevention in dementia, hip fracture care and care of older people in surgery.

She sits on a number of State and National committees in relation to Older People, is the Co-Chair of the ANZ Hip Fracture Registry Steering Group.

Our Board - Scott Griffiths

Mr Scott Griffiths

Mr Scott Griffiths is the current Chair of the Western NSW Local Health District Board.

He is a former Regional Executive Director Western Region NSW Department of Family & Community Services, former Chair Western Region Justice & Human Services Manager Network, and a former Joint Chair of Murdi Paaki Regional Engagement Committee.

Our Board - Laila Hallam

Ms Laila Hallam

With over 25 years in senior sales and marketing roles in mostly large organisations across a range of diverse industries, Laila has commenced postgraduate research in understanding Patient-Centred Care.

Laila also works with Sydney Local Health District to better understand patient and family needs and their place in their treatment. Her focus is to work with healthcare organisations to understand, recognise and facilitate the immense value and knowledge that patients and their families contribute to their own personal healthcare – for better health outcomes.

Laila became an accidental advocate for her father over 10 years ago. Tortured with a rapidly failing body, and losing his ability to speak, Laila took on her father's voice as he lost his.

Our Board - Sandy Middleton

Prof Sandy Middleton

Professor Sandy Middleton is Professor of Nursing and Director of the Nursing Research Institute, a joint initiative between St Vincent's Health Australia (Sydney) and Australian Catholic University. She has led large multi-site cluster randomized controlled trials in stroke and implementation research.

She is a member of the National Health and Medical Research Council Research Committee, the Stroke Foundation Clinical Council, a Director of the St Vincent's Clinic Board, and Chair of the Steering Committee of the Australian Stroke Clinical Registry.
Dr Michelle Mulligan

Dr Michelle Mulligan

Dr Michelle Mulligan is a Specialist Anaesthetist (FANZCA) at Royal North Shore Hospital and in the private sector. She has management responsibility at Royal North Shore as the Clinical Director of the Division of Surgery and Anaesthetics, and also Chairs the Surgery and Anaesthetic Clinical Network of Northern Sydney Local Health District.

Her qualifications include a Master of Business Administration, Fellowship of the Australian Institute of Company directors and Associate Fellowship of the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators. She has served on a number of Boards including the Council, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists and the Northern Sydney Local Health District Board since 2017.